iPod Generation

As a teenager in the past I was forced to listen to the world around me, listen to my parents tell me what to do, when to do it, how to do it etc… And with nothing to keep me from listening, I would usually run to my room and blast the music on my stereo that only played tapes. Although in my house I had the ability to run to my room and play loud music in the car, at the mall or at the grocery store I had no way out.

Today if one was to walk around and pay close attention to the teenagers around them they would without a doubt see white earphones sticking out of their ears. They might be bobbing their heads, or moving their lips or playing the air drums. In the past you might have been able to notice them holding a big cd player that was awkward to carry around, but today it is impossible to see were the music is coming from. From ipod nano’s to video ipods, to ipod shuffles, the possibilities of storage in a small pocket or jacket are endless. Clothes, jackets and bags all come with a storage area for an ipod. It is a necessity in our society for our teenagers to have a place to put their ipods when they are out of the house, on the bus, in the car, on a plane etc…

It is a gateway to freedom, a way to ignore society around them and get engorged in their music. Having the ability to bring music where ever they go gives them the opportunity to bring their thoughts and dreams with them as well. Listening to music allows your mind to wonder and think thoughts that are sacred. Although I believe that having constant music, which allows them to have their creative juices flow, is great, it also causes them to be oblivious to what is going on around them.

My first thought was to think that teenagers are being rude and inconsiderate to the world around them, but at the same time I began to see more and more people with an ipod, so I finally broke down a purchased a video ipod from apple. It goes without saying that it did not take me a long time to figure out why people could not be separated from their ipod. The accommodating size of it and ability to store thousands of song make it an easy and efficient way of bringing music along with you. It makes my walk from my house to the grocery store easier, or when im on my bike ride it makes it that much more fun, and I don’t have to worry about bringing cds, or it skipping if I am moving around.

This technology has brought a new light on the simple things in life, such as walking, or shopping, or being on the bus and it has given teenagers the opportunity to get away from the frustrating and complicated things in life. I am convinced now that this technology makes people happier because they have the ability to bring with them everywhere they do the music they love.

Categories: technology

1 reply

  1. Hey there is a small but quickly growing Erie blogger group. We meet once a month in the evening. We are always looking for new people. It is a good causal time were people get together and talk about a range of subjects.

    I don’t know if you would be interested or not.

    Like

