organized desktops

Desktop Organization

Not sure this will motivate you to work, but it might at least motivate you to clean up that desktop that gets overloaded with newly saved files (although I do try to pay attention to where I’m saving things). lifehacker offers a few desktop wallpaper images to download that suggest organizational methods–I’m sure you could design your own, as well: http://lifehacker.com/5807262/give-your-desktop-a-productivity-boost-with-these-built+in-organization-wallpapers/gallery/1

As you can see, the one I put up looks like a bulletin board, and I have dragged my icons into spots that indicate to me different priorities/different file types. I put all the recently created screenshots that I use to show faculty how to do things on what looks like a magnet board. I put folders and documents that I will be using this summer on the grid paper. And the few things I’m trying to look at today are on the sticky note.

Here’s what I learned in the process:

  1. You have to turn off the snap-to-grid feature so you can put the icons where you will. (On the Mac OS, it’s in the Finder view options.)
  2. Making your icons larger creates a more interesting view. If yours are currently very small so that you can fit more on the screen, you might consider how that makes it harder to work. We can only work on so many things at a time, so the fewer the better.
  3. Choosing organization based on a working plan forces you to put away those things that you’re done with, as you should have a long time ago. Some things rightly go in the trash.
  4. It might be a good time to change your filenames to something shorter and more meaningful. My screenshots, as you can see, have useless dates that won’t help me in a search.

Well, looks like I better get to some of that work. Do you have other ideas about your desktop, especially if you are on Windows?

Categories: technology

